The short answer
A practice needs an operating account, a payroll account and a tax or reserve account, with free ACH, cash deposits and a clean feed into QuickBooks. Online platforms like Relay, Bluevine and Mercury are fintechs that bank through partner banks; a local bank wins on cash, branches and, sometimes, a cheaper practice loan.
Online banking is fine for most practices; keep a local bank if you handle cash or your lender prices in deposits
- Online platforms offer several free accounts, free ACH and sweep coverage past $250,000.
- Mercury takes no cash deposits, and Relay and Bluevine cap them, so a cash-heavy office needs a branch.
- A practice lender may cut your rate if you bank there. Price that before you move deposits.
Some links on this page pay us when you check a rate or sign up. It costs you nothing and never changes our rankings. How we make money.
There’s no single best account. There’s the account that fits how your practice actually takes money in and pays it out. Start with that, then pick the bank.
Open it in the practice entity’s name, after you have an EIN. Setting up your dental practice entity covers that order.
What a dental practice needs from a bank
Separate accounts for separate jobs. Most practices run at least three:
| Account | What goes in | What goes out |
|---|---|---|
| Operating | Insurance EFTs, card processor deposits, patient payments | Supplies, lab bills, rent, loan payment |
| Payroll | A transfer before each payroll | Staff pay, payroll taxes |
| Tax and reserve | A set share of each deposit | Estimated taxes, big repairs, slow months |
Splitting payroll out means one look tells you whether payroll is covered. A reserve account keeps tax money from looking like spendable cash.
Free, fast ACH. Many insurance carriers pay by EFT, and your card processor settles by ACH. You’ll pay vendors and move money between accounts by ACH constantly. Wires matter mostly at closing, for equipment and for real estate.
Cash deposits. Many offices take some cash for copays and cash-pay patients. Online platforms cap cash deposits or don’t take them. Know your monthly cash total before you choose.
Integrations. Your bookkeeping software should pull transactions automatically. Payroll software needs to debit the payroll account. See bookkeeping software for dental offices and payroll for a new dental practice.
FDIC coverage above $250,000. Payroll, a reserve and a month of collections can push a practice past one bank’s $250,000 limit. Sweep programs spread deposits across partner banks to raise coverage.
Fintechs are not banks: what that means for your money
Relay, Bluevine, Mercury, Novo, Found and Rho each say on their own sites that they’re a financial technology company, not a bank. Your money sits at partner banks that are FDIC members.
The FDIC says deposit insurance “does not protect against the insolvency or bankruptcy of a nonbank company.” It covers a partner bank failing, not the app.
The FDIC also tells you to identify the specific insured bank holding your money. Check it in the FDIC’s BankFind tool before you move payroll.
How the online options compare
Terms as of Sept. 26, 2026, from each company’s own site. We don’t list interest rates here; they change often, so check each site.
| Platform | Monthly plans | Partner bank and FDIC coverage | Cash deposits | Fees and features worth knowing |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Relay | $0, $30, or $90 (Scale, a limited-time price; listed at $120) | Thread Bank; up to $3 million through its deposit sweep program | Free at Allpoint+ ATMs, up to $1,000 per deposit; Green Dot retailers charge up to $4.95 | 20 checking accounts on Starter and Grow, 50 on Scale; QuickBooks and Xero |
| Bluevine | Standard $0; Plus $30 and Premier $95 (both waivable) | Coastal Community Bank and program banks; up to $3 million per depositor | Green Dot, up to $4.95; Allpoint+ ATMs, $1 plus 0.5%; $7,500 per rolling 30 days | Standard ACH free; same-day ACH up to $10; outgoing wires up to $15 |
| Mercury | $0, $29.90, or $299 | Choice Financial Group and Column N.A.; up to $5 million through sweep networks | “We don’t currently support cash deposits” | ACH and domestic wires free; QuickBooks and Xero automations free |
| Novo | No-fee business checking | Middlesex Federal Savings; up to $250,000 | Not stated on its site | ACH, wires and FedNow listed |
| Found | $0, $35, or $80 | Lead Bank; up to $250,000 | Not stated on its pricing page | Wires $15 on Free and Plus, $10 on Pro; built-in bookkeeping and tax estimates |
| Rho | $0 subscription | Webster Bank (a division of Santander Bank, N.A.) for checking; savings up to $75 million through partner banks | Not stated on its pricing page | Same-day ACH, wires and checks $0; accounts payable and accounting automation included |
Coverage math. Say a practice holds $180,000 for payroll and taxes, $150,000 in reserve and $90,000 of collections in transit. That’s $420,000. At one bank, $170,000 of it is uninsured. On a sweep program with $3 million or $5 million of coverage, all of it is covered at partner banks, subject to each program’s terms.
Cash math. Say your office deposits $3,000 in cash a month, as three $1,000 deposits. At Bluevine’s Allpoint+ price of $1 plus 0.5%, that’s about $18 a month. At Relay’s Allpoint+ ATMs, it’s free, though you’re still driving to an ATM three times.
At Mercury, it’s not possible. At $10,000 a month in cash, Bluevine’s $7,500 rolling limit wouldn’t fit either.
When a local or community bank is the better choice
You handle real cash. A branch takes any amount at the teller window. That beats ATM trips and retail fees for an office with steady cash-pay patients.
Your lender rewards deposits. Some practice lenders price the loan better if you bank with them. As of Sept. 26, 2026, Bank of America’s Practice Solutions page, for example, lists rate discounts on practice term loans and lines of credit. You must be enrolled in Preferred Rewards for Business when you apply. The discount is 0.25%, 0.30% or 0.35% by tier, and specialty loans with customized pricing are excluded. That’s a published program, not an offer.
Enrollment requires an active Bank of America business checking account, and the tiers start at a $20,000 qualifying balance. Read your own commitment letter for any requirement to keep accounts there.
Example. On an $800,000 practice loan, a 0.25% lower rate saves about $2,000 of interest in the first year. Keeping $20,000 in a low-yield checking account to earn that usually costs far less. Not an offer; the rate and discount depend on the lender and your credit.
You want one relationship. A local bank can hold the loan, the line of credit and the deposits. A banker who knows your practice can matter in a bad year. See dental practice loans explained.
Who online banking is right for, and who it’s wrong for
Usually a good fit:
- Practices that take almost no cash.
- Owners who want several labeled accounts for operating, payroll, taxes and profit, at no monthly fee.
- Practices with balances above $250,000 that want sweep coverage without juggling banks.
Usually a poor fit, or a second account at most:
- Cash-heavy offices.
- Practices whose loan pricing depends on deposits at the lending bank.
- Owners who want a branch banker for treasury services and a line of credit.
Many owners do both: the lending bank for the operating account and loan, and an online platform for reserves or tax savings. That’s fine if your bookkeeping pulls from both.
What to do next
- Count your inflows: monthly cash, card settlements and insurance EFTs. Cash decides a lot.
- Read your loan commitment letter for deposit requirements or relationship discounts.
- Pick the structure: operating, payroll and a tax-and-reserve account, at minimum.
- Compare two or three platforms on cash, coverage and integrations. Relay, Bluevine and Mercury are three to start with.
- Confirm the partner bank in BankFind and connect the accounts to your books and payroll before the first deposit.
- Park the reserve wisely. For personal cash, see high-yield savings for dentists.
Written by Ryan Smith, DDS (draft awaiting his approval). Review by a certified student loan professional is pending. This page is general education, not financial, tax or legal advice for your situation. Found a mistake? Tell us.
Sources
- Banking with third-party apps (FDIC)
- Dental practice loans, Practice Solutions (Bank of America)
- Plans and pricing (Relay)
- Adding cash to your Relay account (Relay Help Center)
- Business checking (Bluevine)
- Cash networks (Bluevine)
- Pricing (Mercury)
- FAQ (Mercury)
- Business banking (Novo)
- Pricing (Found)
- Pricing (Rho)